Bingara Minor League proves it can survive

September 29, 2009

“Football on Gwydir Oval again: What a great sight for young and old, after the empty feelings of 2008,” Bingara Minor League, President, Paul Maclachlan said at the Annual General Meeting and Club presentations on Saturday.

“The year has been an expensive one for the club with courses for coaching, first aid league safe as well as apparell to keep to the requirements of CRL and overdue equipment replacement,” he said. “Thanks to the efforts of Brooke Fletcher, Dan Herringe and several committee members the minor league meat raffles have helped income. It would have been nice to see it supported by members of Bingara Minor League as the money raised goes back to the children. Never lose sight of what was here for the children.

“Also as far as fund raising goes Ashlee and Sharon Rafter have been fantastic with our home game raffles. “I can’t thank you all enough. Also a thank you to anyone who helped throughout the year. “It makes things much easier with the canteen helpers through the season and Geoff and Bondi for the early morning ground preparationand clean up afterwards. “The only disappointments for 2009 were the under 10s missing out, and the 12s plagued by injury

“Lastly, thank you to the Warialda boys and families. It has been a pleasure to host you and you are welcome back anytime.”

Paul said a most disappointing aspect through the year was some bullying within the club. “Keep in mind for next season, bullying will not be tolerated by Bingara Minor League,” he said.

Office bearers elected for the coming year are: President, Paul Maclachlan, Vice President, Steve McGarrity, Secretary, Lisa Maclachlan, Treasurer, Glenda Wright, Publicity Officer, Rebecca Mack, Canteen Coordinator, Carmen Southwell, Senior League Delegate, Paul Maclachlan and Steve McGarrity, and Public Officer, Lisa Maclachlan.

The General committee comprises Tracey Carr, Grant Wright, Sharon Rafter, Hamish Abra, Andrew Cooper and Gayle Hillier.

Award winners were:
Under 8s
Encouragement, Ethan Tonkin
Most Improved Jacob Fernandez
Best and Fairest: Ethan McCosker and Liam Mack.
Coaches Award: Jack Todd.

Under 12s
Encouragement, Daniel Price
Most Improved Ned Abra
Best and Fairest: Jake Rafter
Coaches Award: Jack Walton

Under 14s
Encouragement: Matt Maitland
Most Improved Dan Rafter
Best and Fairest: Taylor Wright
Coaches Award: Pat Smith Frank Carey

Supporters Shield: Grace Walton.
Henry Geary Quiet Achiever: Dan Herrings, Brooke Fletcher and Bingara RSL Club.
Senior Clubman: Dan Rafter
Nick Wilson Team Award: U12s.

Photographs will be posted shortly.