Bingara Minor League report

November 5, 2007

Paul McLachlan is the new President of Bingara Minor League Club. Paul was elected unopposed at the club’s Annual General Meeting on Saturday. Retiring president, David Brennan, did not seek re-election.

In his annual report, Mr. Brennan thanked a wide range of people who gave their time to make sure the club functioned well. These included sponsors, Wades Butchery, The Bingara Bakehouse, Hayes Electrical Installations, Imperial Hotel, Bingara Sporting Club, Bingara Advocate, Sportsman’s Hotel, Bingara RSL Club, Brian Riley Building, and H. Fay and Sons.

Mr. Brennan also thanked Bilsborough’s Bus Service “and especially Allan for making sure we arrived on time and safely to the two away games that we used the bus and for letting us stop at Macca’s or KFC on the trip home.”

Also thanked were:
• Cooks and helpers at the barbecue and canteen at the Grand Final day, especially Graham Hosegood, David Young, Ros Goodwin and Kerry Anne Reece who do not have children playing, for helping out
• People who helped in the canteen during the year,
• Westpac Rescue Helicopter Support Group for manning the gates at Grand final day. They made over $800 on the day.
• Referees Graeme Mack and Stan Fletcher. Graeme was on duty at every home game and at times was the referee for three games straight.
• Coaches and Managers for all teams for their commitment and time given to the teams.
• Sarah Abra and Carmen Southwell for submitting reports to the paper.
• Gwydir Shire Council, especially parks and garden staff for marking and maintenance of the field and for setting up the grounds for Grand Final day.
• Martin Hansford for repairing the PA system
• Families who took turns in washing the jerseys throughout the year.
• Bingara Bakehouse and Wades Butchery for their canteen supplies throughout the year.
• Peter Anderson for turning up each week whether he was sick or not, to man the mike, keep time and scoring the home games
• Dan and the RSL Club allowing us to hold the presentations here and for their donation of drinks and chips for the players.
• National Australia Bank, and Manager Evelyn Reilly for donating the NAB Sportsmanship Award, and
• the Bingara Minor League Committee.

“I especially would like to thank Fiona and Jen for the amount of work they have done. It is easy being President when you have the backing of a fantastic Secretary and Treasurer. I would also like to thank my travelling companions and especially Stan Fletcher and Paul McLachlan who made the monthly trips to Inverell for the Group meetings. All the Committee have done a fantastic job”, Mr. Brennan said.

“After a very shaky start to the season, we ended up with a total of 44 players registered with the Club and fielded teams in the 8s, 10s and 12s. “We have had a number of players represent the school and group 19 during the year.

“This year has also seen the Under 12s make it to the minor semi final at Warialda to play against Guyra. Unfortunately they were beaten on the day but were in with a chance to win in the last few seconds of the game. It was a very exciting game to watch, and very heart wrenching to see the boys come off the field with tears in their eyes. “The boys were very ably coached by Maxine Welsh and Hamish Abra this year. The winner of the Under 12s Grand Final was Moree, beating Inverell West,” Mr. Brennan said.

Trophy winners
Under 8s
Best and Fairest, Jake Cracknell
Most Improved, Tom Southwell
Coaches Award, Brock Mullard

Under 10s
Best and Fairest, Charlie McGowan and Jamie Mullard
Most Improved, Ned Abra
Coaches Award, Jack Walton

Under 12s
Best and Fairest, Ed Gibson
Most Improved, Logan Cracknell and Daniel Rafter
Coaches Award, Noah Bilsborough
NAB Sportsmanship Award
Under 12s player, Hannah O’Rourke.
Frank Carey Supporters Award
Lyall Molloy, who turns up at every home game in his gopher and watches all games, and buys a raffle ticket and something from the canteen.
Henry Geary Quiet Achiever Award
Mr. Brennan announced Fiona McGowan as the winner, but Mrs. McGowan announced that the committee had put her name forward as a disguise for the real nomination, that of Mr. Brennan.
Nic Wilson Team Award
Under 12s
Senior Clubman
Cameron Fletcher.