Mayor encourages entries in 2008 NSW Volunteer of the Year Award

June 28, 2008

The Mayor of Gwydir Shire, Peter Caskey, has urged all local not-for-profit organisations to nominate their most dedicated workers for the 2008 NSW Volunteer of the Year Award.

“One in four people in NSW gives some of their free time to helping others, through sporting and services clubs, emergency services, social work, caring for the aged, or through the many other ways people help in the community.

“These awards are a wonderful opportunity for one of our volunteers to receive well deserved, State-wide recognition and to be thanked for their generous contribution. Our local volunteers are undoubtedly the backbone of our community,” said Cr Caskey.

Councillor Caskey said the 2008 NSW Volunteer of the Year Award was building on the success of the inaugural awards held in 2007. Conducted by The NSW Centre for Volunteering, these attracted 170 nominations and culminated in the announcement of 38 exceptional regional volunteer winners, three state volunteer winners (Corporate, Youth and Senior) and the overall NSW Volunteer of the Year.

The major winners were announced by Minister for Volunteering Linda Burney at a special ceremony at Parliament House on 5 December, International Volunteer Day.
Ms Burney launched the 2008 awards during National Volunteer Week.

I am proud the Iemma Government is working with The Centre for Volunteering and providing support for these awards”, Ms Burney said.  “It’s so important that we acknowledge and thank our volunteers for the enormous difference they make to the disadvantaged in our community and to our precious environment.”

All entrants must be nominated and must have volunteered for the equivalent of one day per week (or six hours) for at least six months over a 12 month period.

The entries will be judged on a regional basis, with the winners moving forward to the State judging and awards ceremony on Friday December 5, 2008.

Entries close on Tuesday 30 September 2008. Nomination forms and detailed information about the awards can be obtained through The Centre for Volunteering website: