North West SES volunteers receive citation

February 27, 2008

State Emergency Service (SES) volunteers from across the North West Region have received the Director General’s Unit Citation at a presentation ceremony held at Glen Innes recently.

The presentation was made by the SES Director General, Brigadier Philip McNamara. Other officials present at the awards ceremony were Councillor Steve Toms, Mayor of Glen Innes Severn Shire Council and North West SES Region Controller, Steve Martin along with SES volunteers and their families.

The Unit Citation recognises the efforts of volunteers and staff who were involved in the coordination and delivery of training to members of the Moree indigenous community.

The successful pilot program was held in May 2007 and proved an innovative pathway for involving indigenous people in building SES capability within the Moree community.

Bingara SES local controller Peter O’Brien, left, and Alf King 5th from left, were among SES volunteers to receive the Director General’s Unit Citation.


Recipients of the award were Steve Smith and Jean Muggleton from Inverell SES, Miles Berghan, Rob Armstrong, Ruth Armstrong, Peter Koschman, George Mulherin, Denise Martin, Jane Daly, Charlie Woollett Jean-Mary Botfield, Steve Martin – North West SES Region Headquarters, Peter O’Brien, Alf King – Bingara, Tony Clark -Mungindi SES, Brian Parsons -Ashford SES, Joth Muth – Tabulum SES, Peter Minturn – Grafton SES, Peter Higgins, Graeme Geyer –Namoi SES.

Compliments of The Bingara Advocate