Positions opening up on local Council

August 4, 2016

Residents are being given the opportunity to put their hand up to claim a seat on Gwydir Shire Council, and election day is fast approaching.

Gwydir Shire residents and ratepayers will go to the polls in just 38 days, on Saturday September 10.

The election of 9 councillors will take place, and with current councillors stepping down, the opportunity for new faces to join the ranks has risen.

As confirmed at last week’s Gwydir Shire Council monthly meeting, Cr Kerry McDonald and Cr Angela Doering will both be stepping down this year. It has not yet been confirmed if any other councillors will be leaving their positions.

The fundamental role of each councillor is to represent the interests of their local government area. In being elected, councillors are, individually and collectively, bound by the purpose and principles of local government. Becoming a councillor is both a rewarding and privileged form of public service. Those elected will be in a position to make a diff erence to the quality of other people’s daily lives and prospects.

Any residents interested in becoming a Gwydir Shire Councillor have certain obligations and responsibilities; these can be viewed at www.votensw.info

Nominations are now open for interested candidates and will close on Wednesday, August 10. Your nomination form must be lodged with Sarah Risby, the Returning Officer of Gwydir Shire Council. This can be lodged at the Bingara Gwydir Shire Council office. Nomination enquiries should be directed to the Candidate Help desk on 1300 088 942.

This year, Gwydir residents and ratepayers will be able to cast their votes at one of eight polling locations across the shire and state.

The following polling places will be open from 8.00am to 6.00pm on Saturday, 10 September 2016: Warialda Town Hall, Roxy Theatre Bingara, Barraba Bicetennial Centre, Croppa Creek Public School, Gravesend Public Hall, North Star Public School, Upper Horton Town Hall and Sydney Town Hall.

Those who fail to cast their vote on September 10 will incur a $55 fine.