Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons visits Gwydir Shire

November 1, 2018

RFS Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons AFSM joined Mayor John Coulton to officially handover two new trucks to the volunteers in the Gwydir area and presented Long Service Medals to RFS members.

Shane Fitzsimmons & Gwydir RFS

Shane Fitzsimmons & Gwydir RFS

On Saturday, at the Stonefield Station in the Warialda Rail village a new Category 7 tanker was officially handed to the Gineroi Brigade and a new Category 1 tanker officially handed to the Gravesend Brigade.

These two units will greatly enhance the capabilities of the RFS in the area. Eight RFS volunteers were also recognised for their valued contribution to the community.  Eight medals and/or clasps, representing a combined total of 185 Years of Service.

• Justin Churchland 13 years
• Tod Schmidt 15 years
• Tammy Walker 15 years
• Damien Kelly 21 years
• James Hollow 21 years
• Mathew Walker 32 years
• David Farrell 32 years
• Tim Nicolle 36 years.