Councillors sworn in and Mayor elected

January 20, 2022

Following from the Local Government elections, each of the nine Councillors for the Gwydir Shire, were sworn in at the first Council meeting of the year, held on January 11.

Councillor John Coulton was elected as Mayor after being nominated for the position by fellow Councillors Tffany Galvin and Catherine Egan. Following the declaration, Cr John Coulton thanked his fellow Councillors for their continuing confidence in his ability to perform the role and expressed his deep belief that holding the position of Mayor is a genuine privilege that he doesn’t take for granted.

“I work with a fine group of Councillors who make up a great team,” said Cr Coulton, who continued to welcome the newly elected Councillors to the team.

Deputy Mayor, Catherine Egan, accepted her nomination for the position by Cr Galvin and Cr J Coulton and also thanked her fellow Councillors for their continuing confidence. Mayor John Coulton and Deputy Mayor Catherine Egan were re-elected in their positions by fellow Councillors and will continue in these roles until the next election.