Minor League wraps up the season

September 6, 2012

 Bingara Minor League held their 2012 Presentation at the Bingara RSL Club on Saturday.  Thank you to Manager, Dan Herringe, and Mash in the kitchen  for making it a very enjoyable afternoon. 

Members were very privileged to have Life Members Alf Eather and Joe Bateman to present the team awards.  Also presenting awards were Jill Withers who presented Steve McGarrity with the Henry Geary Quiet Achiever Award; Mrs Audrey Carey who presented Erik Ozols from the Imperial Hotel Motel with the Frank Carey Supporters Trophy; Mrs Pam Wilson who presented the under 12’s with the Nick Wilson trophy and Damian Galvin who presented Dan O’Connor with the Senior Clubman Award on behalf of Kevin Galvin who was unable to make it to the presentation due to prior commitments. 

Player awards

In the 8’s the Most Improved went to Isaak Johnson, Most Consistent – Steven Todd, Coaches Player – Toby White and Best and Fairest for 2012 was Thomas Young.

In the 10’s the Most Improved went to Jack Armstrong, Most Consistent – Dylan McKinnon, Coaches Player – Campbell Bond and Best and Fairest for 2012 was Jack Todd.

In the 12’s the Most Improved went to Chloe Butler, Most Consistent – Dylan Butler, Coaches Player – Clayton Southwell and Best and Fairest for 2012 was Sam Briody.

In the 16’s the Most Improved went to Jack Walton, Most Consistent – Harry Abra, Coaches Player – Andrew Weber and Best and Fairest for 2012 was Matt O’Connor.

Stepping up
 A special mention to Tom Mahoney, Jed Stevens and Jake Rafter who played up this year in the 16’s to make up the numbers. If it were not for these three young men, the 16’s would not have gone ahead.  They showed courage and determination to step up each week and face players a lot bigger than them.  Well done boys. 

Thank you to our sponsors. Bingara Advocate and Meat on Maitland (8’s Jerseys), Bingara RSL (10’s Jerseys), Imperial Hotel (players shorts) McGregor Gourlay Ag Services and Dow Agro Science (Team and Coaches Polo Shirts) Bingara Bakehouse, Bingara IGA and Gwydir Shire Council.

A final thank you must go to President Damien Young and the Bingara Minor League Committee who have put in a huge effort for the club this year – Paul Bond, Steve McGarrity, Nedine Young, Rodney and Lorraine McKinnon, Chris Richards, Angela Todd, Wes and Kellie White and Kristy Johnson.

Thank you also to Pam Richards and Nelp Armstrong for the great assistance in the canteen. 

Thank you also to the coaches Rodney Larkins, Sean Mahoney and Jacob Black and to stand in coaches Lee Fleming and Russell Smyth and Watermen Richard Todd and Billy Johnson. 

Don’t forget to join us at Gwydir Oval on Saturday September 15 at 10am for a training session with the legendary Paul Sironen.  This is open to all children, boys and girls. 

Minor League will have a barbecue at the conclusion for a gold coin donation.